top of page

Half Century Test Completed!

This morning we had our half century test! So much has happened between now and last semester. I thought that I would be blogging more since my class schedule has lightened; however, I have been training and fundraising so much these past two months, my days are still jammed packed!

Just last week I officially met the 500 mile deadline exactly 2 weeks early! I was extremely happy because I was 100 miles under the 200 mile deadline last semester. Now I have officially ridden 596.19 miles! Yesterday morning I rode the 50 mile half century test with two of my teammates, Shawn and Christy. We rode it in 4 and a half hours! It was definitely one of the hardest rides I've been on because we were riding against 25+ mph winds over half the time! But we pushed through the wind and even had some time to stop and take a picture in front of the beautiful Austin skyline as we headed back into the city! I am so proud of everyone who rode this weekend through the awful wind, especially Christy, who pushed through her neck and arm injury and rode the entire time without going into her lowest gears because her derailleur was bent. Watching her persevere through the tough ride made me want to keep going. I am super excited to continue to ride and go on even longer rides with my T4family!

In terms of fundraising, I have officially raised $10,140.85! Not all of it has been uploaded to my online account but it has still been donated! Because I am so close to my $10,500 goal, I have decided to raise my goal by $1,500 to $12,000! This is because while I have already raised over $1,200 from my T-Shirt fundraiser, I have the potential to raise another $1,500 If I can get rid of them all! Right now I still have 173 t-shirts left so if you haven't gotten one, or you did and you want another because they are so soft and comfy, then please fill out this form or email me at geenamay@utexas.edu! http://goo.gl/forms/bxD9hSa96L

With all of this biking and fundraising on its way, I can't even believe I still have time to train for the Austin half marathon and the Handball Collegiate National tournament that are both this month! I was originally aiming for the full marathon, but biking 3-4 days a week did not give me enough time to train. But don't worry, I will be back for the full marathon next year! Texas 4000 is also a featured charity in the Austin Marathon this year so if you would like to donate to Texas 4000 through the Austin Marathon on my behalf, you can do so at this link! It won't go to my personal Texas 4000 account but it will go towards Texas 4000 which is what matters most!

https://austinmarathon2016.everydayhero.com/us/geena

I am sure there will be even more to talk about as the semester goes on and as I begin my volunteering! I will try my best to keep everyone posted on all my progress!

To Alaska and Back,

Geena May


Recent Blog Posts

bottom of page